Skip to main content

Approval for Marriage & Family Therapists in California

Overview: California Board of Behavioral Sciences

  • Provider #: 1566
  • Cycle: Renewal every 2 years
  • Total Requirement: 36 credit hours required; All 36 may be earned with CE-credit.com.
    CBBS has special CE requirements. Those requirements are listed below.
  • Requirement: Law and Ethics, 6 credit hours

    MFTs, LCSWs, LPCCs are required to complete 6 hours of Law and Ethics training with every renewal. All other mandatory courses are one-time requirements. You need to select appropriate ethics courses totaling 6 or more credit hours and then you must review your laws and regulations (http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf). After taking your ethics exam on the customization line of the certificate add the phrase “Includes a review of CA Laws and Regulations”

    5 courses available. View Courses

  • Requirement: Spousal or Partner Abuse, 7 credit hours

    The board requires a licensee to take a one time continuing education course in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention strategies, including community resources, cultural factors, and same gender abuse dynamics. On and after January 1, 2005, the course shall consist of not less than seven hours of training. Equivalent courses in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention strategies taken prior to the operative date of this section or proof of equivalent teaching or practice experience may be submitted to the board and at its discretion, may be accepted in satisfaction of this requirement. Continuing education courses taken pursuant to this section shall be applied to the 36 hours of approved continuing education.

    The board does not review individual courses, but does expect the licensee to select courses that address the topics of spousal or partner abuse. We suggest members review the course synopsis, objectives, and exam questions to determine the appropriateness of the course in meeting the requirements. We have listed below a number of courses that focus on spousal or partner abuse issues.

    We do not yet offer courses to fulfill this requirement.

  • Requirement: Aging and Long Term Care, 3 credit hours

    All licensees are required to complete a one time three-hour continuing education course in aging and long- term care. The course could include, but is not limited to, the biological, social, and psychological aspects of aging.

    14 courses available. View Courses

  • Requirement: HIV/AIDS, 7 credit hours

    All licensees are required to complete a one time course at least seven hours in length and cover the characteristics and method of assessment and treatment of people who live with HIV/AIDS.

    7 courses available. View Courses

  • General Information

    Provider Info

    • APA provider
    • ASWB #1020
    • NBCC #5951
    • 1566

    CE-credit.com home study courses meet qualifications for continuing education credit for MFT’s and/or LCSW’s as required by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. CE-credit.com maintains responsibility for the courses.

    All our distant learning (online/homestudy) courses are considered “interactive” and available for your 36 credit hours.

    All licensees, must certify completion of continuing education on their renewal application. Random CE audits ensure compliance. If audited, you will receive a letter from the Board requesting copies of your continuing education certificates or course documentation as proof of compliance.

    Please Note As of 9/1/2015 CA BBS no longer grants provider approval status for continuing education programs. Our courses will be accepted by the CA BBS based on our APA, ASWB, and NBCC approval.

    Contact Info

    Board of Behavioral Sciences
    Phone: 916-574-7830
    http://www.bbs.ca.gov

    Applicability and Disclaimer

    This CE approval information applies to these professionals in California:

    • Social Workers
    • Counselors
    • Marriage & Family Therapists

    Please Note:

    Carefully read your state licensure renewal requirements as some jurisdictions have specific topic requirements or limits on the number of accepted Online/Home Study credits.

    State laws often change, so please remember it is your responsibility for interpreting your state's laws, licensure requirements, course relevancy and all requirements for your state.